My Visit of Famous Khewra Salt Mines of Pakistan

Khewra_Salt_Mines-2

I’ve been an advocate of healthy eating and lifestyle for as long as I can remember. This has lead me to adopt various changes in my daily dietary routine one of which is consumption of Himalayan salt  in place of common and ordinary white table salt. Whenever I consumed Himalayan salt I couldn’t help and get curious about its point of origin. According to the online vendor that I purchased my salt from, the point of origin was the world’s second largest mine known as Khewra Salt Mines located somewhere in Pakistan. Upon learning this I decided to visit this place during my upcoming vacation. Here’s a brief extract for the audience about my visit of famous Khewra salt mines of Pakistan.

Khewra salt mines are located in the most densely populated province of Pakistan called Punjab. The mines are quite ancient and date back to the days of Alexander the Great’s conquest of the region. Realizing the magnitude of the venue the government of Pakistan has turned the entire mine (which is still functional) into a tourist hot spot which annually draws around two and half hundred thousand visitors from around the globe! When I reached the entrance of the salt mine I found a long queue of people waiting for entrance. We were taken in on a train which runs to and fro the breath of the entire mine. Once inside the places to see are the small scale replica of the Mughal built Badshahi mosque of Lahore which is totally built from multi colored Himalayan salt bricks. Other must see attractions are small scale version of yet another famous Pakistan landmark called “Minar-e-Pakistan” or pillar of Pakistan which is originally located in the city of Lahore.

There is also a café, souvenir shop inside the mine from which I purchased various mementos to remind me of my delightful trip to this wondrous place. I would recommend everyone who is a health enthusiast to at least give Khewra salt mine one visit and take in the magnificent sights and sounds of this ancient wonder.

Leave a comment